2017-2018 Faculty Education and Mentoring Awards

2017-2018 Faculty Education and Mentoring Awards

Updated Deadline: September 30th, 2017!

Deadline: September 15, 2017

The Texas Branch of the American Society for Microbiology announces two faculty awards.  One award of $1,000 in the area of excellence in education and one award of $1,000 in the area of excellence in mentoring will be given during the 2017-2018 academic year.

Application Process

Applications must be sent electronically as PDF files to Dr. Lee Hughes, President of the ASM Texas Branch at Lee.Hughes@unt.edu.

Application package must include:

Mentoring Award:

  1. Letter of nomination, plus at least one (but no more than 3) letters of support from previous or current mentees.
  2. CV of nominee, including statement describing mentoring activities and listing information about previous mentees (e.g. degrees earned, current location, etc.), limit 5 pages.

Teaching Award:

  1. Letter of nomination
  2. CV and letter from nominee, including description of teaching experiences and statement of teaching philosophy
  3. Examples of professional development materials (e.g. syllabi, assignments, etc.), limit 3 pages.

* All nominees should be a faculty member of a Texas Institution for Higher Learning and involved in Microbiology research or teaching.  National ASM and branch membership also required.

Copyright 2012 Texas Branch ASM - Design by Bryan Frederick