Branch Officers : mission, history and etc

Texas Branch ASM History

The Texas Branch was established in 1941.  This year the Texas Branch celebrates 73 years of rich history.  Early Texas microbiology pioneers are numerous and their legacy is strong.  The first President of the Texas Branch was I.M. Lewis, Professor of Botany (Bacteriology) at the University of Texas.  He was followed by S.W. Bohls who was followed by O.B. Williams.  Since those early days, numerous influential microbiologists have held the reins of the Branch and guided her well.

As it was written in a 1992 Texas Branch newsletter and still remains true today, “The Texas Branch is healthy, well adjusted, and capable of going into the next century with the spirit and strength to face the problems of that future time.  Its members are intelligent, strong, and capable of solving the problems that arise on unknown and unseen horizons.  It is confident in the future, since it has been tested by the passage of years.  It now awaits confidently” for its 75th anniversary in October 2016.

Updated for 2015-2017 Officers.

About Texas Branch ASM


Ali Azghani, President

Department of Biology
University of Texas at Tyler
3900 University Blvd.
Tyler, TX 75799
Phone: 903-566-7402


Lee Hughes, President Elect

Department of Biological Sciences
University of North Texas
P.O. Box 305220
Denton, TX 76203-5220
Phone: 940-565-4137


Gregory Frederick, Treasurer

Department of Biology
LeTourneaus University
Glaske O-174
2100 S. Mobberly Avenue
Longview, TX 75602
Phone: 903-233-3354


Millicent Goldschmidt, Councilor

School of Dentistry
The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston
7500 Cambridge
Houston, TX 77054
Phone: 713-486-4554

Gabriela Bowden

Gabriela Bowden, Secratary

Department of Natural Sciences
University of Houston-Downtown
Phone: 713-222-5313

Past Texas Branch ASM Presidents:

  • Kendra Rumbaugh (Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center) 2013-2015
  • Todd Primm (Sam Houston State Univ) 2011-2013
  • Marvin Whiteley (UT Austin) 2009-2011
  • Poonam Gulati (UH Downtown) 2007-2009
  • Heidi Kaplan (UT Medical School at Houston) 2005-2007
  • Robert McLean (Texas State University at San Marcos) 2003-2005
  • Karl Klose (UT Health Science Center at San Antonio) 2001-2003
  • James Stewart 1999-2001


Advisory Board and Previous Branch Officers:

  • Madhusudan Choudhary, Department of Biological Sciences, Sam Houston State University
  • Michael Allen, Department of Molecular and Medical Genetics, Univ. of North Texas Health Science Center
  • Gary Aron, Biology Department, Texas State University
  • Tonyia Eaves-Pyles, Department of Microbiology and Immunology, University of Texas Medical Branch
  • Poonam Gulati, Natural Sciences, University of Houston-Downtown
  • Robert McLean, Biology Department, Texas State University
  • Marvin Whiteley, Molecular Genetics and Microbiology, University of Texas
Copyright 2012 Texas Branch ASM - Design by Bryan Frederick