

Program 2021 Spring Virtual Meeting March 25 – 26, 2021



Current Branch Officers:

President

Madhusudan Choudhary, PhD

Department of Biological Sciences Sam Houston State University Huntsville, Texas 77341-2116 Phone: 936-294-4850 <u>mchoudhary@shsu.edu</u>

President Elect Kelli Palmer, PhD

Department of Biological Sciences University of Texas at Dallas Dallas, TX 75080 Phone: 972-883-6014 kelli.palmer@utdallas.edu

Treasurer

Gregory Frederick, PhD Department of Biology and Kinesiology LeTourneau University Longview, TX 75602 Phone: 903-233-3354 <u>GregFrederick@LeTU.edu</u>

Councilor Bob McLean, PhD

Department of Biology Texas State University 601 University Drive San Marcos, TX 78666 Phone: 512-245-3365 <u>McLean@txstate.edu</u>

Secretary

William Cody, PhD Department of Biology University of Dallas Irving, TX 75062 Phone: 972-721-5192 wcody@udallas.edu

Immediate Past Presidents

Lee Hughes, PhD

Department of Biological Sciences University of North Texas Denton, TX 76208 Phone: 940-565-4137 Ihughes@unt.edu

Ali Azghani, PhD

Department of Biology University of Texas at Tyler Tyler, TX 75799 Phone: 903-566-7332 AAzghani@uttyler.edu

Spring 2021 Goldschmidt Lecturer

Karl Klose, Ph.D.

Director, South Texas Center for Emerging Infectious Diseases Robert J. Kleberg, Jr. and Helen C. Kleberg Professor

Dr. Klose received his B.A. degrees in Biochemistry and German Literature from the University of California, San Diego and his Ph.D. degree in Microbiology from the University of California, Berkeley. He then performed postdoctoral studies in microbial pathogenesis at Harvard Medical School, prior to being hired as an assistant professor in the department of Microbiology at The University of Texas Health Science Center in San Antonio (UTHSCSA) in 1997. Dr. Klose moved to UTSA in 2004, and is the founder of the South Texas Center for Emerging Infectious Diseases. Dr. Klose's research focuses on understanding how bacteria cause disease in humans, in order to develop effective vaccines and His laboratory studies Vibrio cholerae, therapeutics. which causes cholera, and *Francisella tularensis*, which causes tularemia, as well as several other human bacterial pathogens. He is an author on more than 100 peer-reviewed publications, and has received funding from numerous sources, including NIH, DoD, SAAF, and Thrasher Fund. He has mentored many Ph.D., Masters, and undergraduate students, as well as postdoctoral fellows, and international visiting students from India, Spain, Austria, Germany, and Chile.



2020-21 Eugene and Millicent Goldschmidt Graduate Student Award Recipients:

Lauren Howe-Kerr; Rice University, PhD candidate Megan Mullis; Texas A&M Corpus Christi, PhD candidate Sarah Owen; Sam Houston State University

Texas Branch ASM Spring Meeting 2021

Thursday, March 25th

7:00-7:15 PM	Welcome and Opening Remarks Madhusudan Choudhary, PhD Sam Houston State University
7:15-8:15 PM	"Where do the insect gut microbiota come from? Patterns and implications of environmental symbiont acquisition in stinkbugs and butterflies" Alison Ravenscraft, PhD Assistant Professor University of Texas at Arlington
8:30-9:30 PM	Business Meeting
Friday, March 26 th	
9:00-09:45 AM	Undergraduate Student Oral Presentations (in competition for Orville Wyss award) <i>Chair: Daniel Gold, PhD, St. Edward's University</i>
9:45-10:30 AM	Graduate Student Oral Presentations (15 min talks including questions) (in competition for Charlie Gauntt award) Chair: <i>Daniel Gold, PhD, St. Edward's University</i>
10:30-10:45 AM	BREAK
10:45 AM-12:15 PM	2020 Goldschmidt Awardees Chair: <i>Daniel Gold, PhD, St. Edward's University</i>
	<i>"Dynamics of viruses infecting key coral symbionts across a reef-wide thermal stress event"</i> Lauren Howe-Kerr Rice University
	"Activation of Caspase-Mediated Apoptosis in Human Endothelial Cells Infected with Colorado Tick Fever Virus" Sarah Owen Sam Houston State University
	<i>"Culturing the unculturable: high-throughput sorting using fluorescent activated cell sorting and genomic characterization of novel bacterial strains"</i> Megan Mullis Texas A&M University Corpus Christi

12:15-1:00 PM	LUNCH BREAK
1:00-2:00 PM	Concurrent Sessions: Careers Panel and Education Session
Careers Panel	Chair: Jolene Ramsey, PhD, Texas A&M
	Joseph Hanson, PhD Science Writer YouTube Creator
	Jason H. Yang, PhD Assistant Professor and Chancellor Scholar Rutgers New Jersey Medical School Co-Chair, COVID Research Alliance
Education Session	Chair: Joni Ylostalo, PhD, University of Mary Hardin-Baylor
	"GERMS: Generating Engaged & Responsive Microbiology Students" Jennifer Huddleston, PhD Associate Professor Diana Flanagan, PhD Assistant Professor Abilene Christian University
	"Moving Beyond Content Knowledge: Strategies for Creating a Multicultural Based Microbiology Curriculum" Stacy Vasquez, PhD Professor of Biology Dallas College, Mountain View Campus
	"Using Metacognitive Approaches to Advance Students' Research Competencies in Laboratory Contexts" Jeffrey Olimpo, PhD Assistant Professor, Department of Biology Director, Biology Education Research Group University of Texas at El Paso

Faculty Session Chair: Claire Edwards, PhD, St. Edward's University
"SARS-CoV-2 in Student Athletes: The Conflict of Asymptomatic Cases" Emily Bailey, PhD Assistant Professor, Department of Public Health Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center
"Medical Device Infections: How Host-Device Interactions Influence Susceptibility to Staphylococci" Jennifer Walker, PhD Assistant Professor, Department of Microbiology and Molecular Genetics and Department of Internal Medicine, McGovern Medical School Assistant Professor, Department of Epidemiology, Human Genetics and Environmental Sciences, School of Public Health
"Super symbionts: Individual and population-level variation in stickleback immunity is shaped by symbiotic relationships" Lauren Fuess, PhD Assistant Professor, Department of Biology Texas State University
Student Poster Presentations and Judging Session 1 Session 2
DINNER BREAK
Goldschmidt Lecture <i>"Deadly diarrhea: Swimming with Vibrio cholerae"</i> Karl Klose, PhD Director, South Texas Center for Emerging Infectious Diseases Robert J. Kleberg, Jr. and Helen C. Kleberg Professor
Madhusudan Choudhary, PhD
Sam Houston State University Awards Presentation Closing Remarks